Brief History

Born out of the zeal to unite doctors from Amo nationality, AMDF was founded in the year 2010. This body was initially called doctors forum, but following a wise council given by one of our elites, associate professor Shem Bindas, the name was changed to Amo medical doctors’ forum. This, to avoid ambiguity in the eligibility for membership of the since Ph.D. holders were to be members also.

The motivating factor to this initiative was the obvious rising number of medical doctors in Amo land over the years. The Amo nation had over these years been bedeviled by a prolong and perpetual paucity of these professionals, the first being a great neurosurgeon that once existed and practiced in Sweden in the 1970’s but unfortunately past on in 1991 following an illness. That was no other person but Doctor Daniel Magaji.

There wasn’t any until the era of Doctor Jibrin, Michael Apese and Doctor Boniface Kiyani, who both became the only existing medical doctors for years from the 1980’s until the long awaited period arrived when the Amo Nation began to give birth to Doctors in succession, given rise to a total of (12) Twelve as of December 2011.

The most striking set of graduates was the much-celebrated set of four that graduated from the University of Jos, Nigeria in 2010: a total feat that was achieved for the first time in the land. The older doctors could not resist a well-attended reception. In attendance were prominent sons and daughters of the land. Former member of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Honourable (Dr) Michael Apese Jibrin sponsored the event with Doctor Nabasu Lemech, Mallum Chindo, Emmanuel Innocent and Yola Nuhu as co-sponsors.

The highlight of the occasion was the standing out of the first female medical doctor in the land, who incidentally happens to be a niece to the late neurosurgeon, who, as earlier stated was the first medical doctor in the land. The brave and courageous woman is Doctor Zillah Magaji. It is a tremendous and unprecedented challenge to the women who should all aspire to achieve.


  1. Dr. Michael Apese Jibrin
  2. Dr. Boniface Kiyani
  3. Dr. Nabasu Lemech Ezra
  4. Dr. Nuhu Yola
  5. Dr. Chindo Mallum
  6. Dr. Innocent Emmanuel
  7. Dr. Jibrin Nakande
  8. Dr. Adah Gaya
  9. Dr. Joseph Naka
  10. Dr. Nurudeen Dariya
  11. Dr. Isuwa Faruk
  12. Dr. Zillah Magaji